"The Parameter is Incorrect" when entering cycle t

Here you can report bugs you may find in Wallpaper Cycler.

Moderators: Marc G, Johan G

"The Parameter is Incorrect" when entering cycle t

Postby Rod » Thu May 20, 2004 7:08 pm

I am only allowed to enter cycle time between 6:00pm and midnight. Attempting to add any other time results in a popup saying "The Parameter is incorrect".

Any thoughts?

Win2kPro
WPC 2.1
Rod
 

Postby Marc G » Thu May 20, 2004 7:20 pm

I think it has something to do with the am/pm stuff. Can you try it if you can set the correct time when you change the Windows settings to use 24 hour format instead of am/pm?
Marc Gregoire,
NuonSoft
[ Microsoft MVP VC++ since 2007 ]
User avatar
Marc G
NuonSoft Staff
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 8:19 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Rod » Thu May 20, 2004 8:11 pm

okay, went into Control Panel > Regional Options > Time and set Format to HH:mm:ss (from h:mm:ss tt)

And I still cannot change to anything outside 18:00 to 23:59.

My suspicion is that there is some time zone monkey play going on. It is too strong that the cutoff is 6pm, which is midnight UTC.

(back to h:mm:ss tt).
Rod
 

Postby Marc G » Thu May 20, 2004 8:28 pm

Mmm, this is strange :?

It could be a time zone problem like you said.
Which time zone are you in? And do you use daylight saving time?
Marc Gregoire,
NuonSoft
[ Microsoft MVP VC++ since 2007 ]
User avatar
Marc G
NuonSoft Staff
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 8:19 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Rod » Thu May 20, 2004 8:29 pm

btw, I was able to go into the registry and edit the times to what I wanted, and those seemed to work correctly, so it's almost certainly a UI issue.
Rod
 

Postby Rod » Thu May 20, 2004 9:07 pm

Just to answer your question directly...

I'm in US-Central, presently UTC-6
And yes, I use daylight saving.

On a lark, I told my machine to use GMT, killed WPC, opened WPC, and was then able to add times around the clock.

Before restarting WPC, I was unable to.

My diagnosis:
WPC read the current time zone on startup.
That time zone is used in some manner during the Cycle at time.. UI, and it is used in error.

FWIW, when WPC is loaded under US-Central, the default time is 6pm. under GMT, it's midnight.

-- Rod
Rod
 

Postby Marc G » Fri May 21, 2004 3:06 pm

Yes, your diagnosis is correct. I have been able to reproduce the behaviour on my test system and will solve it for a next release.
Marc Gregoire,
NuonSoft
[ Microsoft MVP VC++ since 2007 ]
User avatar
Marc G
NuonSoft Staff
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 8:19 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby crispyflame » Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:41 am

So, is there anything we can do to get around this?
crispyflame
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:40 am

Postby Marc G » Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:58 am

crispyflame wrote:So, is there anything we can do to get around this?

Which version are you running?
Marc Gregoire,
NuonSoft
[ Microsoft MVP VC++ since 2007 ]
User avatar
Marc G
NuonSoft Staff
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 8:19 pm
Location: Belgium


Return to WPC - Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron